Particle-Based Materials Symposium 2021

Event date: November 30, 2021

The Particle-Based Materials Symposium is a small workshop that has, in the last 5 years, brought together (mainly) young scientists and engineers from different communities that all share the goal of creating functionality in materials using particles.

As in 2020, the PBM Symposium will be organized virtually. It will take place as a zoom meeting on November 30, 2021, between 8:50 am and 2:00 pm CET. Participation is free of charge.

The online registration is closed.


08:50 Welcome and Introduction

  • 09:00
    “Building Soft Plasmonics with Monodispersed Nanocrystals”
    Wenlong Cheng, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
  • 09:35
    “Electrochemical Investigation of Particle-Based Catalysts for Energy Conversion”
    Anna Mechler, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • 10:10
    “Crossing the Valley of Death: From Fundamental to Applied Research in Electrolysis”
    Ulf-Peter Apfel, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
  • 10:45
    “From Supracolloidal Structures to Optical and Electronic Devices”
    Andreas Fery, Leibniz Institut für Polymerforschung Dresden, Germany
  • 10:55     Bring-your-own-coffee break
  • 11:10
    “Polymer ligand stabilized nanoparticles: From adsorption kinetics to tunable aspect ratio particles”
    Matthias Karg, Heinrich Heine Universität Düsseldorf, Germany
  • 11:45
    “Active matter – using photochemistry to create motion on the microscale”
    Juliane Simmchen, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
  • 12:20
    “Processing and applications of two-dimensional nanosheet inks”
    Valeria Nicolosi, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • 12:55
    “Laser as a tool for synthesis of metal and hybrid metal-carbon
    functional  nanomaterials”
    Alina Manshina, Saint-Petersburg State University, Russia

13:30 Conclusion

    Scientific Committee

    Prof. Dr. Georg Garnweitner, Institute for Particle Technology, TU Braunschweig
    Prof. Dr. Robin Klupp Taylor, Institute of Particle Technology, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
    Prof. Dr. Tobias Kraus, Structure Formation, Leibniz Institute for New Materials, Saarbrücken
    Prof. Dr. Alexander Kühne, Institute of Macromolecular and Organic Chemistry, Ulm University
    Prof. Dr. Karl Mandel, Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
    Prof. Dr. Doris Segets, Institute for Combustion and Gas Dynamics, University Duisburg-Essen
    Prof. Dr. Nicolas Vogel, Institute of Particle Technology, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg