Particle-Based Materials Symposium

09. November 2017 - 10. November 2017, Aula, Bldg. A 3 3, Saarland University

Flyer PBM Screenshot


Particles deposited as films, embedded in matrices, aligned in fibers, and all other particle-based materials are covered by this symposium. A strong focus will be on material properties that can be achieved using particles and would be hard to obtain using other approaches. Anisotropic, complex particles, and supraparticles that bring functionality to materials are of particular interest. The goal is to bring together scientists from different communities that all share the goal of creating functionality in materials using particles.

Contributions from researchers at all levels are highly appreciated. Slots for oral contributions will be distributed on the basis of the originality of the research, the level of results indicated in the abstract, and the relevance for the field of particle-based materials.


  • Preparation of functional materials using nanoparticles
  • Assembly, arrangement, alignment and patterning of particles in films and bulk materials
  • Anisotropic particles and supraparticles and their use in materials
  • Particle synthesis for materials via gas phase, liquid dispersion, or in situ formation


Abstract submission: October 1, 2017
Registration: October 15, 2017



Sponsored by:

EAM-Logo_4c         Evonik


    Call for Papers

    We encourage all participants to submit a one-page abstract with figures, which must be compliant with the instructions.

    We provide a word processing template that has been pre-formatted for your convenience. Please download the template and use it for formatting and writing your oral or poster abstract. Following the instructions is binding.

    The total length of the abstract must not exceed one page DIN A4 format with 2.5 cm margins including, if applicable, figures, acknowledgments and/or references. The text should be typed in 12 pt Times New Roman with single line spacing.

    Please include the abstract’s title, authors (name format: First name followed by last name), and affiliations. Underline the presenting author.

    Note that all line drawings and figures must be electronically inserted into the paper. Be sure to include figure labels and scale markers. At most two figures may be inserted. Please
    make sure your figures are still clear and legible when reduced to A5, which is the final format of the abstract book!

    Check the spelling and grammar carefully. Any errors in spelling, grammar or scientific data will be reproduced as typed by the author.

    Abstract submission


    Anticipating the rush on hotels, we have blocked a number of rooms at reduced rates for you in three hotels: B&B Hotel, Hotel Madeleine and Hotel Leidinger (contact details below). They can be reserved by email or telephone providing the keyword “PBM-Symposium”. See the entries below for reservation deadlines. For information on other hotels in Saarbrücken, please see the list of hotels in Saarbrücken (PDF)

    For further details on other hotels in Saarbrücken please consult the list of hotels in Saarbrücken.

    Getting there and around

    Saarbrücken, the capital of the Federal State of Saarland, is an attractive and livable university town in the southwest of Germany on the border to France. The city can be reached by train within two hours from either Frankfurt or Paris.

    The colloquium will take place in the assembly hall (Aula, bldg. A3 3) of the Saarland University within walking distance from INM – Leibniz Institute for New Materials.

    By airplane

    • Saarbrücken-Ensheim AirportA taxi ride from Saarbrücken Airport to Saarland University takes approximately 20 minutes. Bus #R10 runs hourly between the airport and Saarbücken Station.
    • Luxembourg AirportExpress busses operate between Luxembourg Station (“Gare Centrale”) and Saarbrücken Station (“Hauptbahnhof”). See timetable.
    • Frankfurt AirportThere are two convenient ways of continuing your journey to Saarbrücken:
      • German Railway to “Saarbrücken Hbf” (main station), travel time: 2,5h.
      • Flixbus Travel time is approx. 3h and fares are reasonably priced.
    • Paris AirportWell connected by TGV and ICE to Saarbrücken main station (“Saarbrücken Hbf”) without changing trains. Travel time is about 1h50 (see also below).

    By train

    The high-speed networks of ICE and TGV allow quick and comfortable travel to Saarbrücken station, for example from Frankfurt / Main or Paris Est (France). For more information and tickets see German Railway. The local main station is called “Saarbrücken Hbf”.

    Local transportation

    Busses and regional trains, the Saarbahn (tram), make public transportation in the area a viable alternative to taxis.

    When arriving at the university campus, please get off the bus at “Universität Campus”. The ride from the main station, the city center or from Römerkastell takes about 14-20 minutes. Tickets can be purchased either before the ride at ticket vending machines or directly from the bus driver (current bus fare for a one-way ticket: 2,60 €).

    List of busses leaving from:
    Saarbrücken “Hauptbahnhof” (Main Station)
    e.g. from the hotels Mercure, La Résidence, B&B
    Search for connections
    Busses #124, 112, 102

    Saarbrücken “Rathaus” (Town Hall)
    e.g. from the hotels Leidinger, Motel One, Madeleine, Am Triller
    Search for connections
    Busses #101, 102, 109, 111

    Saarbrücken “Römerkastell”
    Search for connections
    Busses #138, 136

    For more information see To find connections to the conference venue at Saarland University, search for busses to “Universität Campus”.


Nanosafety 2017
11. Oct 2017 - 13. Oct 2017, Saarbrücker Schloss
Cell Physics 2017
11. Oct 2017 - 13. Oct 2017, Universität des Saarlandes